Map Lamp Shade

A plain white lamp shade has been sitting in my sister’s room for almost a year now. I didn’t think much about it until my mom told me she wanted to hot glue buttons all over it. Maybe it’s just me but I find that idea really ugly:

I said I could make something better and thus my desire to make a map lamp shade.

I had seen examples on the internet like these:

The one on the right is from etsy and priced at $150! I could make one for under $50.

1. First you need a lamp shade

2. Buy paper maps, use a vintage map, or an old book. I went to Barnes & Noble for maps. I bought two St. Louis maps for about $12 and ended up using 1 1/2 of them.

3. You’ll need a die cut. I bought one at Hobby Lobby for about $16. You can get a die cut with a bigger or smaller circle and could probably get different shapes, too.

4. Cut up your map

5. Hot glue on the map circles. I went right to left, bottom to top.

Cover the lamp shade and put it on display.

     

craft on.

 

Leave a Reply

