4th of July Shorts

4 score and 156 years ago our fore fathers gave a huge middle finger to King George with the signing of the Declaration of Independence. It was time to celebrate ‘MERICA so I set out to make my own American flag shorts.

These are $55 on Etsy

You could buy shorts like the one above but I found that they can get up to $70-$100+. That’s ridiculous! You can make your own shorts for under $20 and they will be much more meaningful because you made them.

1. Find a pair of shorts you want to wear. I went to Goodwill and bought white shorts for $6.

2. Buy paint, fabric paint, or I used tumble dry tye dye spray

3. I cut and sewed up the weird strap to make the shorts have a normal look

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

4. I used blue painters tape to make the designs of the flag

5. went outside and sprayed the shorts with the tye dye spray

tip: be sparing with the spray. I sprayed too much of the red and it bled under the tape. Also I would put down newspaper otherwise your concrete will have blue and red stains and you’ll have to face the wrath of your parents like me. oops.

6. Let it dry for 45 minutes to an hour before you remove the tape

7. If you use the spray toss it in the dryer for however long the directions tell you

my stripes bled out a little but it still turned out ok

Bam! look at those shorts. Now you’re ready to eat, drink, and be merry.

craft on.

Leave a Reply

